When Jessica Simpson married Nick Lachey in 2002, he was, by all accounts, the more successful of the pair. Naturally, the two believed that they would be married for the rest of their lives, and as a result they did not sign a prenuptial agreement. However, during their three-year marriage, Jessica grew increasingly successful, with a hit album, film, and of course, the couple's infamous television show "Newlyweds". When the pair filed for divorce in 2005, they had vastly disparate incomes. As a result, Nick received $10 million from Jessica as part of their divorce settlement.

Recently, both Nick and Jessica announced engagements to other people; Nick to longtime girlfriend Vanessa Minnillo, and Jessica to former NFL player Eric Johnson, who she has been dating for six months. According to reports, Jessica is poised to make the same mistake she made during her first marriage: she has no plans to sign a prenuptial agreement. As a result, if her marriage to Johnson ends in divorce, he may have a valid claim to a sizable portion of her estimated $100 million fortune.

Several people in Jessica's life are in opposition of her decision. Joe Simpson, Jessica's father and manager, is reportedly unhappy about her prenup plans. "At the moment, Joe is sitting back and being a great father, supporting his daughter and his future son-in-law," said an unnamed family friend. "However, Joe is going to do everything in his power to make sure Jessica doesn't walk down the aisle until Eric signs away any right he might have to Jessica's enormous fortune."

Of course, Joe may have a vested interest in maintaining her wealth in the event of a contested divorce: as her manager, he receives ten percent of Jessica's income. However, he is not the only one worried about the situation. According to Us Weekly, Jessica's friends have expressed concern that Johnson was using her to live a more lavish lifestyle.

The couple has not yet set a wedding date.

Source: Fox Los Angeles, "Jessica Simpson Doesn't Want Prenup, Again", 16 November 2010